Funded Research

The MRF has funded millions of dollars in melanoma research since 1998.

The Melanoma Research Foundation is proud to award research grants supporting the study of melanoma prevention, diagnosis and treatment across the spectrum of the disease, including cutaneous, ocular and mucosal melanoma. These include the following:

  • Team Awards (established in 2014) - Two-year awards, up to $250,000 per year
  • Established (Senior) Investigator Awards (established in 2006) - Two-year awards, up to $100,000 per year
  • Career Development (Junior) Awards (established in 1998) - Two-year awards, up to $50,000 per year
  • Medical Student Awards (established in 2011) - One-year awards, up to $3,000
  • Society for Melanoma Research Young Investigator Awards (sponsored by the MRF since 2013) - One-year awards, $5,000 per year
  • Society for Melanoma Research Christopher J. Marshall Award (sponsored by the MRF since 2015) - One-year awards, $5,000 per year

View a summary of the 2018 Research Recipients here.

Characterizing the Role of the Hippo Pathway During Melanoma Immunotherapy

Team Award
Principal Investigator: Genevieve Boland, MD, PhD
Institution: Massachusetts General Hospital (Mentor: Keith Flaherty, MD)
Melanoma Research Foundation Breakthrough Consortium – Bristol-Myers Squibb (MRFBC-BMS) Young Investigator Research Team Award to Advance the Field of Translational Immuno-Oncology

Identification of Src Family Kinases that Drive Resistance to Mutant BRAF Inhibition

Medical Student Award
Principal Investigator: Eliot Zhu
Institution: University of Iowa

Understanding Mechanisms of Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor Induced Colitis in Melanoma

Medical Student Award
Principal Investigator: Kyle Tegtmeyer
Institution: Northwestern Feinberg School of Medicine

Elucidating the Role of AMPK Signaling in Melanoma Metastasis

Medical Student Award
Principal Investigator: Kristina Navrazhina
Institution: Weill Cornell Medical College

A Novel Chemoimmunotherapy for Cutanenous Melanoma Using Dissolvable Microneedle Arrays

Medical Student Award
Principal Investigator: Alicia Mizes
Institution: University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
In honor of Nerissa Balland