Research & Science

Scientific Leadership

The MRF’s Scientific Leadership is comprised of multidisciplinary experts in basic and translational research, dermatology, epidemiology, genomics, pathology, surgery and medical oncology. Membership includes representatives from the private and public sector.

Members of the MRF’s Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) are listed below. Learn more about the  CURE OM Scientific Steering Committee and the Pediatric Steering Committee and the MRF Breakthrough Consortium.


Michael B. Atkins, MD

Deputy Director, Georgetown-Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center
Georgetown University
Washington, D.C.

Glenn Merlino, PhD

Senior Investigator
Laboratory of Cancer Biology and Genetics
Scientific Director for Basic Research
Center for Cancer Research
National Cancer Institute, NIH
Bethesda, Maryland


Andrew Aplin, PhD

Kalbach-Newton Professor in Cancer Research
Associate Director for Basic Research
Professor, Department of Cancer Biology
Program Leader for Cancer Cell Biology and Signaling, Kimmel Cancer Center
Thomas Jefferson University
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Menashe Bar-Eli, PhD (Grant SRO)

Professor and Deputy Chair
Director, Cancer Biology Program, Graduate School of Biomedical Science
Co-Director, Metastasis Research Center
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and UTHealth Science Center
Houston, Texas

Marcus Bosenberg, MD, PhD

Professor of Dermatology and Pathology, Yale School of Medicine
Co-Leader, Genomics, Genetics and Epigenetics Program
Co-Director, Yale SPORE in Skin Cancer
Yale Cancer Center
New Haven, Connecticut

Clara Curiel, MD

Alan and Janice Levin Endowed Chair in Cancer Research
Associate Professor of Medicine and Dermatology
Vice Chief of Dermatology
Director, Cutaneous Oncology Program
Clinical Director, Skin Cancer Institute
The University of Arizona Cancer Center
Tucson, Arizona

Adil Daud, MD

HS Clinical Professor, Department of Medicine (Hematology/Oncology)
Director, Melanoma Clinical Research
UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
San Francisco, California

Keith T. Flaherty, MD

Director, Henri and Belinda Termeer Center for Targeted Therapies
Director, Developmental Therapeutics
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, Massachusetts

Alan Geller, MPH, RN

Senior Lecturer on Social and Behavioral Sciences
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Harvard School of Public Health
Boston, Massachusetts

Teresa Landi, MD, PhD

Senior Investigator, Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics
National Cancer Institute
Bethesda, Maryland

Martin McMahon, PhD

Cumming-Presidential Professor of Cancer Biology
Senior Director for Preclinical Translation
Huntsman Cancer Institute & Dept. of Dermatology
Salt Lake City, Utah

Ze’ev A. Ronai, PhD

Professor and Scientific Director
Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
La Jolla, California

Keiran Smalley, PhD

Professor and Donald A. Adam Endowed Chair in Melanoma Research
Director, Melanoma and Skin Cancers Center of Excellence
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute
Tampa, Florida

Jeff Sosman, MD

Professor of Medicine
Director, Melanoma Program
Director, Faculty Development
Co-Leader, Translational Research in Solid Tumors
Robert H. Laurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University
Chicago, Illinois

Jennifer Wargo, MD, MMSc

Associate Professor, Department of Surgical Oncology, Division of Surgery
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, Texas

Ashani Weeraratna, PhD

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Cancer Biology
Co-Program Leader, Cancer Invasion and Metastasis Program
Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
The E.V. McCollum Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Baltimore, Maryland

Jedd Wolchok, MD, PhD

Lloyd J. Old/Virginia and Daniel K. Ludwig Chair in Clinical Investigation
Chief, Melanoma & Immunotherapeutics Service
Director, Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy at MSK
Associate Director, Ludwig Center for Cancer Immunotherapy
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
New York City, New York