THE WHITE HOUSE Office of Science and Technology Policy

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 28, 2020

President Donald J. Trump Announces Intent to Appoint Two Additional Members to the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology

Today, President Donald J. Trump signed an intent to appoint two more members to the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST). Dr. Kelvin K. Droegemeier, Director of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, who also chairs the Council, with Edward McGinnis serving as the PCAST Executive Director, welcomed both Dr. Theresa Mayer, Professor and Executive Vice President for Research at Purdue University and Dr. Hussein Tawbi, Associate Professor and Deputy Chairman in the Department of Melanoma Medical Oncology in the Division of Cancer Medicine at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. PCAST will include 16 total members in addition to the Chair of the Council. The first meeting of 2020 will take place on February 3-4 and you can find more details here.

"The Trump Administration has proven to deliver a diverse group of our Nation's leaders in science and technology through PCAST. I am pleased to welcome our two newest members, Dr. Theresa Mayer and Dr. Hussein Tawbi from the academic community. They will join a dedicated and expert team of PCAST members who are integral in paving the way for the U.S. to continue as the world leader in science and technology. I look forward to having Dr. Mayer and Dr. Tawbi serve on PCAST and the valuable contributions they will provide as part of this robust group of leaders," said Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier.

"It is a tremendous honor to be selected to serve on such a vital advisory team. Our nation has been the driver of significant advances in science and technology, particularly in artificial intelligence, microelectronics, hypersonics and quantum information science, all areas identified as key by the President. It is incumbent on us to remain a global leader in these areas. I look forward to getting started," said Dr. Theresa Mayer.

"I truly am honored to serve on PCAST and to participate in shaping a strategy to ensure the United States remains a leader for science and technology. I am particularly excited to tackle key challenges facing researchers and to identify opportunities to augment long-term impact," said Dr. Hussein Tawbi.

Bios of Dr. Theresa Mayer and Dr. Hussein Tawbi:

Dr. Theresa Mayer is the Executive Vice President for Research and Partnerships and Professor at Purdue University. An electrical and computer engineer, she is widely recognized for her work in applications of nanoscience and technology to create electronic and photonic devices with new properties and functions. Prior to joining Purdue in 2019, she was the Vice President for Research and Innovation at Virginia Tech. Her early career was at Penn State University, where she was a distinguished professor of electrical engineering, and served as the associate

dean for research and innovation in engineering, the site director of the NSF National Nanotechnology Infrastructure Network, and the director of the Materials Research Institute Nanofabrication Laboratory. Mayer is a fellow of the Institute for Electronic and Electrical Engineers, and has received awards for her teaching, research, and technology transition.

Dr. Hussein Tawbi, MD, PhD, is Associate Professor and Deputy Chairman, Department of Melanoma Medical Oncology, Division of Cancer Medicine, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX. He also is Director of Melanoma Clinical Research and Early Drug Development, Department of Melanoma Medical Oncology, Division of Cancer Medicine, and Co-Director of the MD Anderson Brain Metastasis Clinic. Dr. Tawbi received his Ph.D. in Clinical Translational Science from the University of Pittsburgh, and his M.D. from American University of Beirut.

<u>Current Appointed Members of the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology:</u>

Catherine Bessant, Chief Technology Officer, Bank of America

Dr. Shannon Blunt, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, the University of Kansas

Dr. Dario Gil, Director of Research, IBM Research

Dr. Dorota Grejner-Brzezinska, Professor of Engineering and Associate Dean, Ohio State University

Dr. Sharon Hrynkow, Senior Vice President for Medical Affairs, Cyclo Therapeutics

Dr. H. Fisk Johnson, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, S.C. Johnson & Son, Inc.

Dr. A.N. Sreeram, Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Dow Chemical

Shane Wall, Chief Technology Officer and Global Head of HP Labs, HP Inc.

Dr. K. Birgitta Whaley, Director of Quantum Information and Computation Center, University of California, Berkley